People who search for modi mandir 112 crore, the modi mandir budget or modi mandir ka kharcha want one number. Here is the honest answer. Rs 112 crore is a request, not a sanctioned budget. Board member Rajan Singh says the Bihar State Transgender Welfare Board has asked the government for Rs 112 crore and five acres of land. No government order, budget line or trust account for the proposed Modi temple in Patna has been reported. Who will pay is not decided.
This page follows the number from the first report to today, puts each outlet's version side by side, and says clearly what is still unknown.
Key takeaways
- Rs 112 crore and five acres are what Rajan Singh says the board has asked the government for. A request is not an approval.
- ETV Bharat and PatnaPress (both 11 August 2026) report the figure. PatnaPress says plainly that it is not a sanctioned project.
- Early reports disagree on who pays: the state, community donations, or both. No amount was given in the first reports.
- Every money detail we found traces back to Singh's own statements. We found no government statement about money.
- Websites that show a detailed cost table for this temple give no document or official behind it. We treat those tables as unverified.
Where does the Rs 112 crore figure come from?
The trail is short, and every step leads back to the same person.
- 29 July 2026. The Bihar State Transgender Welfare Board held its first meeting in Patna. It approved a proposal by board member Rajan Singh to build a temple for Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The PTI report, carried by ThePrint, quotes him: "I proposed to build a temple for Narendra Modi because he gave us respect and rights." It gives no cost.
- 11 August 2026. ETV Bharat quotes Singh: "We have demanded five acres of land and Rs 112 crore from the government for building the temple." He also said the proposal "will go to the Cabinet Secretariat."
- 11 August 2026. PatnaPress gives the same figures and calls it "not yet a sanctioned project".
- 20 August 2026. After an event at the Press Club of India in Delhi, The Federal reported that Singh told PTI the plan is a temple costing Rs 112 crore on five acres.
Later reports repeat the number. Repeating is not confirming. In every case the source is Singh's own statement. A small note on names: PTI spells his first name "Ranjan", while most outlets write "Rajan". We use "Rajan". His title also varies, board member in some reports and vice-president in others.
Side by side: what each outlet says about the kharcha
The reports do not so much contradict each other as record different moments in the same set of statements. Each one leaves out something the others add.
| Outlet and date | Who pays | Amount | Land | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PTI via ThePrint, 29 July 2026 | Not mentioned | None given | Not mentioned | Board approved the proposal |
| Free Press Journal, 29 July 2026 | State government will bear the cost, according to Singh | None given | State to identify land | Board approved the proposal |
| Navbharat Live, 1 August 2026 | Community donations plus state government support | None given | To be identified; no site named | Says board and state approved (Singh's claim) |
| ETV Bharat, 11 August 2026 | Government, as requested by the board | Rs 112 crore requested | 5 acres requested | Proposal to go to Cabinet Secretariat |
| PatnaPress, 11 August 2026 | Government funding requested; community may top up | Rs 112 crore requested | 5 acres requested | "Not yet a sanctioned project" |
| The Federal (PTI), 20 August 2026 | Not stated | Rs 112 crore plan | 5 acres | Singh's statement to PTI |
Look at what is missing from every row: a date of sanction, the name of a department that agreed, and a source other than Singh.
What Free Press Journal and Navbharat Live added
Free Press Journal, on the day of the meeting, said the state government will identify land and bear the construction cost, with no amount. It presents this as what Singh said, not as a government order. Navbharat Live, in a Hindi report of 1 August, described a different mix: money from community donations (chanda) and cooperation from the state government. It said no site had been chosen and that Singh wants Chief Minister Samrat Choudhary invited for the bhoomi pujan, the ground-breaking prayer. That the state government has approved is Singh's claim. We found no government statement that confirms it.
What ETV Bharat and PatnaPress added
ETV Bharat says the statue is planned in gold. On what happens if money falls short, it quotes Singh as saying "then we'll arrange it", without saying how. PatnaPress adds that community members would be ready to contribute if there is a shortfall. It also says the pictures used with the story are AI-generated. So a picture of a golden Modi temple that you have seen online is not a real building or an approved design.
Is Rs 112 crore a budget, a request or a sanction?
It is a request. Similar-sounding words mean very different things, so it helps to be exact. Here are the steps a project normally passes through.
| Stage | What it means | Reported for this temple? |
|---|---|---|
| Idea approved by a board | Board members agree the idea is good | Yes, on 29 July 2026, according to reports (one board member disputes the full backing) |
| Request sent to government | A letter or file asks for land and money | Singh says so; no copy has been published |
| Estimate | An expert works out a likely cost from plans | No plans or workings published |
| Examined by a department | Officials check the law, the cost and the land | Not reported |
| Sanction order | A written order gives an amount and a source | Not reported |
| Money released | Funds move to an account | Not reported |
Rs 112 crore sits at the second step at best. Calling it "the budget" skips most of the process. A simple example: a school club asks the principal for Rs 50,000 for a library corner. The club has asked. The principal has not agreed. A story saying "school to spend Rs 50,000" would turn a request into a decision. That is the slip that has happened with this number in many online posts.
Modi mandir kitne crore ka hoga? What is documented and what is only claimed
| Claim | Status | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Singh asked for 5 acres and Rs 112 crore | Reported as his statement | ETV Bharat, PatnaPress, The Federal (PTI) |
| The proposal includes a life-size gold statue | Reported as his proposal | ETV Bharat, PatnaPress. No cost for the statue is given. |
| The proposal will go to the Cabinet Secretariat | Singh's statement | No report shows it was sent or received. |
| The government approved the money | Not supported | PatnaPress: "not yet a sanctioned project" |
| It will be paid fully by donations | Not supported | Reports mention a government request and donations. |
| The land has been given | Not supported | No plot has been named in any report we found. |
Why do some websites show a detailed budget?
You may have seen pages with line-by-line costs: so much for land, so much for stone, a hospital wing, a hall, a schedule in months. We looked for the source of such tables and found none. We found no published project report, no named architect, no named trust and no official document that contains them. A table only proves that someone typed it. If a page does not say who made the numbers and where the document can be read, treat the numbers as unverified.
The same goes for claims like "no cost to taxpayers" or "100% private funding". The only reported funding statements are Singh's request to the government and his mention of community help. Nothing has been approved, so we cannot say taxpayer money will be spent either.
Why one person's figure keeps spreading
- Numbers are easy to share. "Rs 112 crore" fits in a headline. "A request of unknown outcome" does not.
- Reports copy each other. A later article often repeats an earlier one without a new check.
- Words get dropped. "Requested" becomes "will cost", and "will cost" becomes "budget of".
- Saying it to a news agency adds reach, not proof. On 20 August Singh repeated the figure at a Modi Chalisa reading at the Press Club of India. The club said it did not organise the event. Our page on what happened at the Press Club has the full account.
Who builds it and who pays: where to read more
This page is about money only. For who would build and run the temple, see Modi Mandir kaun banayega. For timing, see when the Modi Mandir could be built. For how this request compares with real spending on other Bihar temple projects, see our spending comparison.
The board itself was not fully united in the telling. Queerbeat reported on 21 August that board member Anupriya Singh called the temple Rajan Singh's personal agenda, and that the 29 July minutes it saw did not mention a temple. We have not seen the minutes, so this is one outlet's account. It shows that "the board approved it" is a claim that has been questioned.
Is the state allowed to pay for a temple?
This is general information, not legal advice.
Article 27 of the Constitution says no person can be forced to pay taxes whose proceeds go to promote or maintain one particular religion. Courts have looked at it in cases such as Shirur Mutt (1954), Reghunath (1974) and Prafull Goradia (2011), as summarised in legal explainers. No court has ruled on the Patna proposal. Whether state money could be used would depend on how it is spent and under which scheme. Our explainer on Article 27 and state funding of temples goes through the cases in plain language, and the law and money topic page collects related pieces.
What to look for in a real sanction
If a real decision is announced, these details would show it is genuine.
- A written order with a number, a date and a department name.
- An amount and a source. It should say whether the money is from the state budget, a scheme or private donations.
- A named owner. Someone must hold the land and the money, for example a registered trust. Check that it really exists.
- A site. A plot, a place, and who owns it now.
- A second source. A government website, a court record, or at least two independent news outlets.
Our guide on checking viral claims shows these steps using this very number. A crore, by the way, is ten million, so Rs 112 crore is Rs 1,120,000,000.
What we do not know yet
These points are not confirmed by any source we found as of 24 October 2026.
- Whether the request was formally sent, and whether the Cabinet Secretariat, the Bihar government or the Prime Minister's Office has received or answered it.
- How Rs 112 crore was calculated, and what it would cover beyond the gold statue.
- Whether the money would be public, private or a mix.
- Where the five acres would be, or whether any land has been identified.
- Whether a trust or body exists to own and run the project.
- What the full board decided on 29 July, since we have not seen official minutes.
We also found no statement about the temple from the Prime Minister, the BJP or the Bihar government. If one appears, we will add it with its date.
Common questions
Modi mandir kitne crore ka hoga?
No official figure exists. Rajan Singh says the board asked the government for Rs 112 crore and five acres. That is a request, not an approved cost.
Who will pay for the Modi temple?
It is not decided. Free Press Journal reported that the state would pay. Navbharat Live reported donations plus government support. PatnaPress said the community may add money if there is a shortfall. All of this comes from Singh.
Has the government approved the Modi temple in Patna?
We found no report of approval. PatnaPress calls it "not yet a sanctioned project", and Singh says it still has to go to the Cabinet Secretariat.
Is the land already chosen?
No. Five acres is what the board asked for. No plot or location has been named in any report we found.
Sources
- ETV Bharat, "Bihar Kinnar Board Proposes To Build Temple For Modi", 11 August 2026
- PatnaPress, golden Modi temple proposal, 11 August 2026
- Free Press Journal, board approves construction of temple dedicated to Modi, 29 July 2026
- Navbharat Live, Kinnar Kalyan Board approval report, 1 August 2026
- ThePrint (PTI), the board's approval and Singh's quote, 29 July 2026
- The Federal (PTI), Press Club of India disowns the Modi event, 20 August 2026
Last checked on 24 October 2026. Spotted a mistake? Tell us through our contact page.
